top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiana

Meet Mrs. NY America 2002


Lisa Cove is a Masters prepared Nurse Practitioner and 1992 graduate from the University of Rochester School of Nursing. She is a certified yoga instructor for over 15 years teaching at Breathe Yoga studio. A wife to Dr Chris Cove for 32 years, and the mom of 3 sons (twins Alexander and Zachery age 25 and Matthew age 24). She is the chair for the Village of Pittsford Historic Preservation district and lives in a 1892 Victorian home in the Village of Pittsford.


 


1. How has Mrs. America and/or Mrs. NY changed since you competed in 2002?

There was only a “one title” pageant up until about 2018. It was Mrs New York America, which fed the Mrs. America pageant. The pageant director was Joanne Cercone and today the NY state director is Diane Hargrove.


2. What was your biggest challenge and accomplishment as Mrs. NY?

Challenge: Spending a full month in Hawaii to compete for the Mrs. America title was my biggest challenge that year. At that time, my three children were 6, 6 and 4 years old. My mom had to babysit, alternating with my husband while I was away.



Accomplishment: My modeling career really took off that year. I was given opportunities that would not have happened without my title. I was able to use my platform of volunteerism to raise monies for many not-for-profit organizations in the community.


3. You're active in your community as a nurse, supporter of the RPO, model and yoga teacher. How has your experience as Mrs. NY prepared you for these responsibilities?

Confidence building is a major attribute to any pageant experience. The Mrs. New York title opened doors to opportunities that were not available to me before. It was that extra “something” that helped me accomplish my dreams.



4. As someone who continues to support Mrs. America, what advice do you give to contestants today?

“Go for it!” This is your time to celebrate who you are as a person, what you have accomplished as a married woman and know that just competing, even without winning the crown, you become a role model for so many people to take a chance in personal growth. The people you meet, the live long girlfriends you find and the experience of working on being your best self is uniquely amazing and life changing.


5. Anything else you would like to add?

If you are considering being a Mrs. NY contestant in the future, please talk to people that have experience in pageantry. There are many local people who would love to help you decide if this is right for you. Reach out to your support system. My number one fan has always my mom. Your family and friends may not understand this desire at first, but once they see your transformation as you prepare to compete, they will be right there to cheer you on! It's not about the external beauty, it is what radiates from inside!


If anyone would like to speak to me directly please email me at LisaCove1@outlook.com




227 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page