top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiana

Trade Filters For Skin Care


It's easy to feel intimidated in the skin care aisle. There's an abundance of products and unless you're a medical professional, it's unlikely that you know what ingredients are good or bad. I've been blessed with a clear complexion and I'm often asked about my skin care routine. I curated a list of my favorite products so you can strut into the beauty aisle with confidence and walk out with skin that radiates.


Every morning and night I wash my face with Neutrogena's Oil-Free Acne Wash with salicylic acid, which was recommended by my dermatologist. I used to use Dove Soap but I have noticed results after using Neutrogena's cleanser. I'm not surprised that the stubborn bumps on my forehead started to disappear because salicylic acid exfoliates skin, unclog pores and provides a deep clean for oily skin. When searching for a face wash, it's important to avoid harsh cleansers like deep scrubs with fragrance.


I then apply CerVe Daily Moisturizing Lotion, which was also recommended by my dermatologist. I use a number of CerVe's products and I appreciate the light texture and breathable coverage. The best part is, the AM Facial Lotion includes sunscreen and the PM Facial Lotion is filled with ingredients that restore the skins barrier as you sleep!

The Ordinary is a brand that was also recommended by my dermatologist. It receives praise because of its price and effectiveness. I use Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% by The Ordinary because this helps even my skin tone, offsetting any acne or rosacea. With a wide variety of serums, moisturizers, cleansers, exfoliators and masques available, there's ought to be a product for any of your skin care needs. If you want to explore options in store, The Ordinary is sold in Ulta Beauty. Before you go shopping, don't forget to take advantage of the regimen builder, which can help you determine what products can address your skin concerns.


If you already celebrated your 21st birthday, it's time to invest in an anti-aging cream. I rub EAU THERMALE Avene's RetinalAl 0.1 Intensive Cream on any fine lines on my forehead and neck. This was also recommended by an NP and although a 1 oz bottle costs $70, there's value in purchasing a quality anti-aging product. When searching for an anti-aging cream, it's important to know if any side effects are associated with it. For example, you should avoid extensive exposure to the sun when this cream is applied.

Although I tan easily and naturally have darker skin, I always loose some of this color in the winter. I recently started using Loreal's SUBLIME BRONZE Self-Tanning Water Mousse and it blows spray tans out of the water. Spray tans are usually sticky and the aroma isn't always pleasing. This lightweight mousse is the complete opposite! I usually apply the solution at night and after two applications, it looks like my skin was kissed by the sun. In addition to the visible results, I'm impressed that the solution smells good and it's reasonably priced. Other than purchasing online, I've only found this product in stores at Target.


If you have stubborn skin lesions and don't have immediate access to a dermatologist, I suggest downloading Aysa. This app is powered by my employer VisualDx and it provides individualized answers to your skin questions while preparing you for a doctor visit. I also find a lot of great advice from influential dermatologists on Instagram. My favorites are @doctorly and @dr.tomassian.


Please note that I am not a dermatologist and although some of the products above were recommended by practitioners, everyone is different. I suggest consulting with a medical professional for individualized care that addresses any potential diagnosis.

122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page