top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiana

Hello Rochester: Morgy Cakes


My name is Morgan Wilson and I am a self taught, home baker and owner of Morgy Cakes. I never in a million years thought that I would be where I am at today, considering I went to college for biochemistry and had been working in environmental engineering for about 5 and a half years. Baking started off as a hobby and quickly turned into a passion over the course of the last three years. I would find myself day dreaming about different cake designs I wanted to try once I got home from work. I decided at the beginning of 2021 to take the jump, leave my full time job, and commit to making Morgy Cakes a reality.


 

1. As a self taught baker, what was your inspiration? I started off with baking cheesecakes, which is funny to me because I really do not even like cheesecake. I enjoyed the challenge and started experimenting with different flavors, but I knew I wanted to do more. I was very intimidated by the idea of getting into cake decorating but would see Chelsweets’ videos all over Facebook. One night I decided to just give one of her cake designs a try and I was so incredibly proud of how it turned out. I brought the cake into work the next day and knew from then on that there would be many more cakes in my future. Chelsweets (Chelsey White) was definitely my biggest inspiration, especially at the beginning. Once I started getting more comfortable with cake decorating, I started to focus in on buttercream flowers. It did not take me long to realize that floral work was my calling. My biggest inspiration for buttercream flowers was definitely Leslie Vigil. Her ability to make her cakes and cupcakes look so realistic really fueled my desire to perfect my flowers. I will never get sick of attempting new floral techniques.

2. What makes your desserts unique?

I believe what makes my work stand out is the attention to detail. From the color selections, to the piping tips chosen to create each flower, to the miniscule details that add just the right amount of depth. I sit and I put together each design in a true custom fashion where no two cakes come out the same. I’m constantly evolving and finding new ways to tweak my techniques. I feel that my meticulous nature is what sets me apart.


3. Is there a difference between purchasing baked goods from an individual baker, rather than a large bakery?

I think my ability to be able to spend more time focusing on all the details is something you may not always get when ordering from a larger bakery that handles many more orders on a daily basis. I also make everything from scratch. Depending on what bakery you go to, this may not always be the case.


4. You have over 13,000 followers on Instagram. Has this following helped your business grow? Explain.

Instagram has been a huge player in growing my business. I have met a lot of fellow bakers all over the world through Instagram who have helped me through this huge transition as I get my business up and running. I have been asked to join collaborations that have also helped to get my name out there. I have had people who have tried my baked goods before refer their friends to my page, which turns into new connections. My email is hooked up to my Instagram so people are able to inquire about ordering right from there. I really do think it is an excellent tool for a business.


5. What does the future of Morgy Cakes look like?

I am so excited to see where I go with Morgy Cakes. My business is very much in its infancy but I have big plans for the future. I would like to expand my social media presence to include tutorial videos and maybe even start doing some cake decorating classes. I am also in the process of putting together a website where order information will be easily accessible. I would also love to do some local pop-ups and markets in the future! The possibilities are truly endless and I am so happy that I now have the ability to explore them.





362 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page