top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiana

Hello Rochester: Frosted


Angelea Collins is the CEO of Frosted, a cupcake business that provides homemade, all-natural cupcakes to those in her community. She is a freshman at St. John Fisher College studying business management and communications. Angelea established Frosted in 2016 when she was in 8th grade. She participated in the Young Entrepreneur Academy, also known as the YEA program. This 30-week entrepreneur course taught Angelea many skills and techniques that she uses often whether that may be in the classroom or managing her business. Skills that include how to brainstorm a business idea, develop a business plan, and present a business in front of business investors.

Being the CEO of a business comes with a lot of work and responsibility. Not only does Angelea bake all of the cupcakes, but she is also responsible for the marketing, finances, and management of the business. Although at times it becomes difficult, she perseveres, knowing that success comes to those who are willing to work for it.

 

1. As a young entrepreneur and business management student at St. John Fisher College, what inspired you to pursue a career in business?

When I was little, I always said I wanted to start a business in my future. The idea of developing my own ideas into something I could call my own has always captivated me. When I was introduced to the YEA program, I knew it was the perfect opportunity and it was my chance to turn my dream into a reality.

Starting a business when I was only in 8th grade was challenging. However, the program is structured around young students who have a passion for business so it was fairly easy because they were mindful that we were students as well.

Since 2016, when I started Frosted, I have always run my business in the summer and part-time during the school year. Although owning and managing a business as a student can be challenging, I have learned that in order for my business to grow, I need to use what I have learned in the classroom in my business. Now that I am in college, I am starting to take more business classes which is beneficial to my business because it allows me to implement what I have learned in school into how I manage and run Frosted whether that may be for media and marketing or for finance.

2. Out of all the things you could bake, why did you choose cupcakes?

I get asked this question a lot, and quite honestly, every time I am asked that question, I have no answer. I am not really sure why I chose to focus on only cupcakes. I have always loved baking ever since I was little. I always baked with my grandma and aunts but we always made cookies or pies, never cupcakes.


3. Is there anything unique about your cupcakes being all-natural? Explain.

I do think that my cupcakes are unique because they are homemade and made from all-natural ingredients. As a result, my cupcakes are flavorful and are high-quality cupcakes which ultimately set me apart from my competitors.

4. What aspect has been the most influential in helping you build Frosted into a successful business?

The support from my community, my family, and all of the business professionals at St. John Fisher has been the most influential in helping me build Frosted into a successful business. All of the amazing business professors and the Dean of the business school, Carol Wittmeyer, have been so supportive of not only my business but my future as a business owner. They have given me so many opportunities that have taught me how to develop my professional skills as a successful business owner as well as a student.

5. Have you considered entering a baking show like Cupcake Wars on Food Network or even ABC's Shark Tank? Why or why not?

I would love to compete in a baking show like cupcake wars. I remember watching Cupcake Wars when I was little and it was always my dream to be on the show. I would also love to present a business proposal to ABC’s Shark Tank but I am not sure if I would present Frosted but rather another future business idea.

6. What are your plans after graduating from Fisher and what does the future of Frosted look like?

I am not sure what path I want to take after graduation. There are many different paths that I could take because of the endless opportunities that Fisher has given me but I am open to all possibilities. Working for a corporation or business is most likely what I will pursue after college because I want to implement what I have learned at Fisher in the corporate world. However, I also want to continue my business on the side because I love to watch it grow. Eventually, I would love to get a cupcake truck for Frosted so I could travel, cater events in different areas, and possibly come back to campus to cater events.

7. Anything else you would like to add?

Frosted can be found on Instagram and on Facebook @frostedcupcakes1

I cater to many events throughout the summer including weddings, bridal showers, and graduations, and I am now taking orders for the summer months.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page